Formation Gérer et Animer un Fonds Image et Son en Médiatheque

My first formation as a music librarian! It was awesome!

Formation Gérer et Animer un Fonds Image et Son en Médiatheque was organized by the organization Images en Bibliothèques and it happened from 21st to 23rd February 2024 in BNF, Paris.

Objectives of the formation were following:

First day of the formation was about music collections, and that was obviously my interest, and the second day it was about film collections, which is useful for me also. Third day were various guests that talked about their program actions in the institutions where they work. I had a great time! I got a wonderful base for my new position. I got historical overview of the music and film librarianship, and the challenges that libraries are going through. If I need to highlight the most important think I learned, it's this : the circulation of CDs is not the most important factor in mesuring a success of the department. CDs (and DVDs) are only a support, and we, librarians, are here to educate, provide information and inspire our members. CDs are not dead yet, and music is everywhere! People are listening music more than ever, and it will not disappear. And the second thing - we need to have fun and experiment :)

Not only did I learn a LOT, I also met a lot of people and exchanged some experiences. I met a librarian who has a band and invited her to play in our library. I will write about this later, when the event is complete.

What else to say? I'm motivated, enjoying my new position and loving learning and being a beginner. I'm looking forward to the new adventures in front of me since I have so many ideas thanks to this formation.